Theory Teacher's Blog

Beginning

Welcome to my blog, which I created to help me teach an introduction to literary and cultural theory.

One may ask, how might blogging be useful for a college classroom? For some students, I think “theory” can seem too abstract and disconnected from the “real” world. I hope that my blog will personalize and “realize” the way that theory gives us insight not only into great works of literature or revolutionary moments in history but also into our everyday lives.

Additionally, theory is essentially a dialogue among subjects — i.e., among you, me, us, the texts we read, and the world. And so blogs usefully create one kind of space where such dialogues can happen more easily.

January 12, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Hi, this is a comment. I appreciate respectful, engaging, and funny comments. I will delete meanspirited and pointless ones.

    Comment by steventhomas | January 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. here is my site:http://english243blog.blogspot.com/

    Comment by Nick Kurtz | January 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment