Theory Teacher's Blog

Blog-o-Sphere Vacation

Starting this week, the second week of May 2011, I will be taking a vacation from my blog. I started writing it in January 2008 as part of the “Introduction to Literary Theory” class that I was teaching then. All the students in the class had to keep blogs too, and I enjoyed reading them as well as my blogroll comrades (listed right.) Since then, it morphed into something that related to other classes I taught and to other various topics related to my teaching, scholarship, and political activism (especially my work with the Oromo community.) In the forty months since its beginning, I have written 126 posts, averaging about three per month. And according to the data counter, the blog has been averaging a little more than 2,000 views per month for the past few months (though I suspect most of those views are insubstantial.) But it’s time for a break.

My blog’s vacation will end in January 2012 when I begin teaching the “Introduction to Literary Theory” class again. I am grateful to all of my friends, family, colleagues, students, former students, and interested strangers who have read my blog from time to time over the years. I am grateful to your generosity and curiosity, and I appreciate you perhaps more than you realize. And I sincerely hope you will come back to check out my new posts next year when I return to the blog-0-sphere and start blogging again.

May 8, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Steven,

    I’ve really appreciated the care and attention you’ve put into this blog. You’ve opened up my thinking a number of times. Looking forward to your return in 2012.

    Comment by theoriesofmyself | May 8, 2011 | Reply

  2. From one stranger to another: I will miss reading your blog. Your writings have really sparked my interest in literary theory. Do you know of any other literary theory blogs that will still be active while you take your little vacation?

    Comment by Betsy | May 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

