Theory Teacher's Blog

The Magentic Fields Teach/Kill Saussure

One of my colleagues today told me about this song, “The Death of Ferdinand de Saussure,” by The Magnetic Fields, one of the greats to come out of the college-indie-pop scene of the 1990s, and a perfect example of postmodern aesthetics. Next time I teach structuralism and Saussure, I’ll have to remember to play this song.

 

 

Meanwhile, I just discovered that my old professor, Michael Berube, whose essays I sometimes teach in my intro-theory course, returned to the blog-o-sphere after a year vacation from it. His blog is one of the inspirations for my own, and apparently he’s been back on for some time, and I didn’t even realize it.

April 3, 2009 - Posted by | music

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

